Using Dowsing With Labyrinths

Children naturally know how to walk labyrinths.

Children naturally know how to walk labyrinths.

 

Here’s another example of Dowsing, and the benefits of keeping an open mind!   This story is from Richard Feather Anderson, who will teach an advanced course at the Dowsers West Coast Conference in July, Santa Cruz, CA.

“Dowsing is a wonderful way to reach beyond what we consciously know – to get answers to questions that best serve everyone concerned. I can’t imagine doing what I do professionally without the help of dowsing. I use it in every feng shui consultation, geomantic site planning job, labyrinth design project, space clearing, and earth acupuncture treatment. Dowsing gives me deep insights more quickly than I could ever get just using my rational, logical, analytical faculties. Let me give you some examples from my every-day professional uses.

In my thirty years of designing and laying out labyrinths for people to use for walking meditations and consciousness-raising processes, I have always dowsed for the spot that will “best support” these activities, and then dowse for where the entrance and main axis should go. One of the first years I brought labyrinths to the West Coast Conference, 1986 or 87, my dowsing directed me to orient a seven-circuit ancient style labyrinth so that the entry path was directly aimed at a three-story blank concrete wall on the campus of UC Santa Cruz. I could not figure out why my higher intuitive self thought this was a good idea. My architect’s mind told me this gave meditators the ugliest possible view as they started their walk and arrived at the center. I had noticed that labyrinth walkers spend most of their time looking down at the ground to stay on the path, and only look up as they enter, and again when they arrive at the center. So I knew it’ was important to orient a labyrinth so you see something inspirational or peaceful at those moments when you look up and take in the surroundings.

Even though I couldn’t explain why it made sense, I followed my dowsing results. On the last night of the conference I went out to have one last labyrinth walk. It was the first clear fog-less night, and as I stood at the mouth of the labyrinth and looked along the path to the center, I saw to my amazement that the path was pointing directly due north to the North Star. “Oh, my goodness!” I exclaimed, “so that’s why I was directed to orient it this way.”

I learned that night to never question my labyrinth dowsing results again. The next year it happened again with the orientation of a Chartres labyrinth. I thought I was being told to orient the labyrinth toward the beautiful redwood grove on campus, but when I took a compass reading I discovered it was also replicating the orientation of the original labyrinth in Chartres Cathedral in France, which points at the summer solstice sunrise. I just love how dowsing nudges me to do things that are only later revealed to be so perfect for the desired intention or goal.

For more information about Richard Feather Anderson:

2036 Nevada City Hwy #308;  Grass Valley, CA 95945

530-272-7737

rfa.geomancer@gmail.com

www.richardfeatheranderson.com

Leave a Reply

