Spirit of the Labyrinth

Since 1989 at the West Coast Conference of the American Society of Dowsers, I have been putting up new labyrinth designs for the attendees to experience.  It’s always a new design so I can answer the inevitable question, “What should I expect when I walk your design,” with “I don’t know, it’s a new design and it’s never been walked before.”

 

The conference is over the 4th of July weekend (http://www.dowserswestcoast.org/), and by last Wednesday I haven’t thought of anything for this year and I was starting to worry.  I have been retired from making labyrinths for 10 years, so my mind is not on the field.  Thursday I was doing some energy work with my friend Pat Dornik;  the last figures we looked at that day was page 35 in Steve and Karen Alexander’s Crop Circle book for 2015 (http://temporarytemples.co.uk/  They put out a yearly crop circle book of the photos that Steve takes, 40 something pages, beautiful stuff).  Click photo to see a larger view.

Image#1.png

The top design is obviously more interesting, yet I found my self focused on the bottom design.  Not the design itself, but what had happened to the crops in the inner square.  I was especially fascinated by the circular design in the center, and the little dots there.  I also noticed an outline for a tic.tac-toe board, and the small squares near the left and bottom sides. I also noticed some swirls but didn’t pay them much attention.  Then I read the description by Karen Alexander and read that there was an eight-pointed star in it with swirls in each of the point.  Harder to see, but present and the tic-tac-toe board was part of the star.  I eventually found that the 8 pointed star could be drawn with a single line.  That didn’t have any significance for me until the middle of the night when I was doing my Jin Shin Jyutsu practice (The Touch of Healing by Alice Burmeister).  I suddenly realized that anything made with a single line can be made into a labyrinth.

 

Background, the two most famous labyrinths, the Cretan (now commonly called the Classical) and Chartres are straight line labyrinths which means that if one grab the path at the entrance and the center and pulled on each end, one eventually ends up with a straight line.  For both of these labyrinths, one walks from one end (entrance) of the line to the other (center) and then turns around and walks back to the other end (entrance).

Image#2 cretanLabyrinth

Cretan Labyrinth

Image#3.Chartres (1).png

Chartres Labyrinth

 

So I made the 8 pointed star design that one can walk.

 Image#4 8ptstar.png

8 Pointed Star

To walk the design as a labyrinth, one enters at the bottom and goes either left or right.  When one comes to an intersection, one always goes straight.  Eventually one will understand the nature of the design and the alternative paths at intersection become largely ignored.

 

This is also a circular labyrinth.  In a circular labyrinth, one end of a straight line is connected to the other end, which when expanded produces a circle.  Circular labyrinths have no center and can naturally be walked continuously.  Here are a few examples of circular designs.

Image#5 circ.png

Circular Design

Image#6vikinghorselabyrinth

Circular Viking Labyrinth

IMage#7circ.png

Circular Design

 

For the 2014 WCC, I drew the design in chalk based on the crop circle below, so I am happy to find a crop circle that can be made into a labyrinth.  I also found this design while working with Pat Dornik.

Image#8.png

Crop Circle Photo

Image#9 2014

2014 Labyrinth Based on Crop Circle

IMage#10Choice.png

2014 Labyrinth Closer View

 

Back to the 8 pointed design, one can see at the entrance how one can go either left (CW) or right (CCW), and that after completing the walk through the 8 pointed star, one has the choice to leave or walk it again (go around the circle again).

Image#4 8ptstar

2016 Labyrinth: Choices

 

I will be making this at this years WCC, on July 1st at 10AM on the plaza of the College 8 Campus at the University of California at Santa Cruz.  If you talk to me before hand, you do not have to come to the conference to help with the layout.      But, why not come to the conference?  it’s the best conference I’ve ever attended by far.  Joan and I started going in 1987 and I haven’t missed a single year.

 

Layouts of labyrinths are special, as one is in the energy that comes in as it is being made, and then one gets the fun of walking a design that’s never been walked before.

 

Alex

 

 

 

Alex B Champion

Earthworks and Labyrinths

(707) 546-1635

http://www.earthsymbols.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

